Our collaborators

University of Pittsburgh:


José-Alain Sahel, MD
Distinguished Professor and Chairman,
Department of Ophthalmology
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Exceptional Class Professor at Sorbonne Université, Paris
The Eye and Ear Foundation Endowed Chair
Medical Retina Service


Simon C. Watkins, PhD

The Founder and Director of the Center for Biologic Imaging at the University of Pittsburgh

Distinguished Professor

Vice Chairman in the Department of Cell Biology.

finkel nh.jpg

Toren Finkel, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology,

Director of the Aging Institute University of Pittsburgh Medical Center and University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine.


Leah Byrne, PhD

Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

New Bitmap image_edited.jpg

Corrine Kliment, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine

Member of the Cellular and Molecular Pathology Graduate Training Program.


Dhivyaa Rajasundaram, PhD

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Core Lead, Bioinformatics Core at Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh

External collaborations:


The Johns Hopkins Wilmer Eye Institute:


James Tahara Handa, MD

Chief, Retina Division
Professor of Ophthalmology

Jiang Qian, MS, PhD

Professor of Ophthalmology
Professor of Oncology

Donald J. Zack,


Co-Director, Johns Hopkins Center for Stem Cells and Ocular Regenerative Medicine (STORM)
Professor of Ophthalmology


Melinda Duncan, PhD

University of Delaware

Professor, Biological Sciences

Editorial board member, Investigative Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Director, Education and Professional Development Core, Delaware IDeA Network for Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE)

Associate Director, Center for Biomedical Research Excellence (COBRE) in Discovery of Chemical Probes and Therapeutic Leads


Arkasubhra Ghosh, M.Sc., PhD

Head of Department,

GROW Research Laboratory, Molecular Signalling and Gene therapy,

Narayana Nethralaya Foundation, Narayana Health City, Bangalore, India

Adjunct Research Scientist, Singapore Eye Research Institute, Singapore


Deborah Ferrington, PhD

Doheny Eye Institute

Chief Scientific Officer

New Bitmap image.jpg

Ashwath Jayagopal, PhD

Opus Genetics

Chief Scientific Officer


Kai Kaarniranta,  PhD

University of Eastern Finland

Chief Physician and Professor of Ophthalmology

(University of Eastern Finland and Kuopio University Hospital)

Chief Editor of Acta Ophthalmologica


Raju V.S. Rajala, PhD

M.G. McCool Chair in Ophthalmology

Edith Kinney Gaylord Presidential Professor

Professor of Physiology

Adjunct Professor of Cell Biology

Mentoring Faculty at Oklahoma Center for Neuroscience

Member, Harold Hamm Diabetes Center


Yuri Sergeev,  PhD

National Eye Institute

Head of Protein Biochemistry & Molecular Modeling Group


Caroline Lewis,  PhD

Whitehead Institute

Director, Metabolite Profiling Facility